Over the last few years more and more students enroll in universities. This situation creates competition among individuals. Do you agree or disagree? Is it a good or a bad development?

With academic excellence gaining prominence, a strange trend is developing among the pupils as everyone is seeking enrollment in varsities. This has given rise to a race of sorts among the younger generation to secure higher grades in the secondary studies. Some feel, this is surely a thing to worry about, while others look at the positive side of it.

Better academic qualifications have always been the objectives of pupils seeking academic excellence. To achieve this, the pupils tend to opt for reputed varsities that are equipped with better faculties and facilities. This has given rise to a stiff competition among the people as the number of seat available in departments of universities are limited which in turn has raised the cut-off percentages in selection lists.

Such neck to neck race would surely cast an unholy shadow on the current education system as other venues of imparting courses may become irrelevant shortly. There could be another negative impact on the education system as courses being hosted by the colleges and other alternatives institutions may not be considered suitable and adaptable thereby rendering the academic pursuits of students of these establishment inappropriate. This could finally lead to a collapse of the whole setup.

However, some educationists and planners feel that this is a positive development as the recent drift of pupils towards university would not inspire them to gain more proficiency in their elementary pursuits, but also help in developing their attitudes to obtain deeper knowhow in any discipline they pursue. Moreover, the institutions clubbed under non university categories would also be encouraged to raise the standards of academics and facilities being offered currently.

To sum up, I personally feel that the inclination for universities would bring around positive results in the long run.