The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the caused and effects of this disturbing trend.

Undoubtedly, the western societies have been noticing that overweight children are rising sharply. There are certain reasons and its effects to this trend.

To start with, one of the main cause for this is poor diet. For over recent times, there has been increase in the number of fast food restaurants such as Pizza Hut and Dominos. The food in these places have been proved very unhealthy, which mainly targeted to the children who get to be more attracted to this kind of food. Also, it is not only about having food outside but also the food they have at home. It is quite common that both parents have to work in order to meet the requirements of their family, as a result dependence on processed food has increased.

These caused has very serious effects too. One of the major effect is there has been a huge increase in health diseases among children such as diabetes. Health issues like these may need a lifetime treatment which will affect the mental growth of the child. Not only this, overweight children often experience bullying from other children which may affect their overall development.

To sum up, it is evident that there are several causes of the obesity among the children and also various negative effects. Therefore, parents and government must look into this matter seriously in order to control over consuming of fast food and processed foods.