Popular event like the World cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotion in a safe way. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

Our world now still witnesses many fluctuations, disputes, tensions between countries. Some people believe that the harmless measure to relieve these problems and express nationalistic emotion is popular events such as World cup or Olympics. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this idea.

In the first place, it is claimed that some popular events are competitive and can lead to the conflict between supporters of two sides in the game. However, this conflict only happens temporarily and only in such events could we see that there are no difference and no distance between people from different countries. They all join the event and enjoy their interest. For instance, in World cup 2014 in Brazil, we can see people from all over the world stay together to watch the football match and they may have parties and become friend with each others. Therefore, such occasions is a good opportunity for people in many countries to stop all about the tensions or disagreements with others.

In the second place, it is argued that extremists will take the advantages of these events to incite violence and racial hatred. Thereby, it will escalate the tenseness between countries. Nevertheless, the racist and violent action can totally controlled by the security force of the host nation. For example, in World cup 2010, the government of South Africa had mobilized thousands of police to warrant the safety for all football fan from many countries. Hence, there was no report about violent or racist incidents during this World cup. On the other hand, by cheering enthusiastically for the national team, people also release their great love to the motherland.

In conclusion, the government should enhance people to participate in international events because it will benefit not only their own country but also the world peace.