Popular events like the football World Cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Every four years, the whole world stops to watch international sporting occasions such as Olympics, Football World Cup in which athletes show their best to make their country proud of them. These sporting occasions are helpful in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in difficult times in a safe way.

The Olympic games are one of the best examples which prove how sporting events bring nations together. Every country in Olympics try to prove their dominance over another country to be high, instead of wars, sports are the best way to prove themselves. For example, in India, cricket is considered as a religion and cricket has got uncountable fan following. In the modern era, every international government is trying to control world's economy and fighting for their land, at that times, sporting events eases international tensions.

Similarly, international sporting occasions show benefits in some developing countries. For example, Brazil has a high rate of unemployment, lack of education, corruption and poverty which shows embarrassment of being Brazilian and a low self esteem. However, when it comes to the Football World Cup, the situation changes. As Brazil is considered as the best team in the world in the Football World Cup, every individual from Brazil feels to be pride in their country. In addition, an individual can be seen with their national flag standing solely in live international sporting tournament such as Cricket or football World Cup this defines the patriotic feeling of that particular.

By the way of conclusion, international sporting events play an important role in decreasing international tensions and releasing patriotic feelings.