Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the following topic:

Should parents be obliged to immunize their children against common childhood diseases? Or do individuals have the right to choose not to immunize their children?

You should write at least 250 words.

Use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

It has been years now that the government supports immunization program for children. Nonetheless, the question that has been arisen along the way is whether we should put it as an obligation or an option. I personally believe that immunizing children should be compulsory instead of just a choice. The following paragraphs will elaborate my consideration from two broad aspects: human right and economic.

To begin with, immunization is aimed to strengthen the children immune, so the use of it will protect them from common childhood disease. As far as I am concerned, having healthy life is a right of every human being and the health of children is at the hand of their parents. Furthermore, the early phase of life, which is childhood, is both vulnerable and crucial at the same time. As a consequence, it is important to ensure their healthy condition, as when children grow in a fit state, it is most likely that they will have a better future.

To consider it further, it is obvious that obligating parents to immunize their children will benefit the children more. This is in regard with the family’s financial plan. When a family lives in poverty and is less informed, it is a tendency that the family will spend more money on food, which they think more urgent, rather than on immunization for children. As a matter of fact that the number of people lives under the poverty line worldwide is still enormous. However much, when immunization becomes obligation, parents will have no other choice but immunize their children.

All in all, it is the children that should be prioritized in this matter and I am greatly convinced that, for the human right and economic reasons, parents should be obliged to immunize their children.