Some educationalists argue that non-exam, art-based subjects, such as music, drama, art and craft, shoud be compulsory in the secondary-school curriculum. They believe that activities such as these can improve overall academic performance.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a well known fact that nowadays a common curriculum in all schools around the world consists of totally different subjects such as precise sciences and arts-based activities. Some individuals believe that it is completely necessary to include subjects that are inextricably connected with arts in the general syllabus of secondary-school because lessons such as music, drama, art, and craft might have a positive influence on academic progress. So, I partly agree with the given statement that arts-based subjects can enhance educational efficiency.

On the one hand, there is an explicit speculation that each student has its own unique list of subjects in which he or she is really interested and without a doubt this list might involve art-based lessons. These non-exam lessons in turn might be a main cause of motivation to acquire remarkable marks in other school classes. For instance, if one has an excellent performance in certain types of subjects it might be indispensable for him to be the best in other kinds of lessons. In addition to this, according to some knowledge, art can easily not only reveal but also improve some skills that will be essential in accurate sciences such as math, physics, and chemistry.

On the other hand, there are known to be some affirmative reasons why the education government may not pay some attention to non-exam subjects. First of all, each lesson in the school syllabus requires time and efforts which means it is necessary for students to create a well-thought schedule to maintain high performance but during long time learners will be definitely snowed under. In order to avoid such unpleasant situations, school curriculum has to include only classes that can be evaluated by teachers. For example, in my country to get free higher education it is necessary to pass only five subjects.

In conclusion, after all arguments have been discussed in detail, I suppose the overriding task for the government of education is to find a right balance between art and other subjects.