Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is said that humans start to learn a language while they are inside their mother's womb. They tend to grab the surrounding sounds even before birth and learn to react for those noises.

Children at younger age start to learn languages quickly than adults. In fact researches have proven that children can learn new languages together better than most of the adults, if they start at younger age.

Most of the children will first learn their native tongue. During primary education if they were given the opportunity of learning a foreign language, they are able to learn it faster than learning the same when they grow more older.

On the other hand, there is a chance that it would be a burden on some of the small children. This might be true if their parents or teachers tries to put pressure on them on learning a foreign language, as if they are preparing for a college exam. It is up to the teachers to understand the limit a child can handle and to teach them without pressuring and demotivating them. Otherwise there is a greater possibility that a child will be stressed and afraid of learning a language even when he becomes an adult.

When children are in secondary school there will be many subjects to follow. Middle of all the course works, assignments and extra curricular activities it would be hard for them to start focusing on learning a new language compared to younger age.

Therefore in concluding all the above points it is clear that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. If the teachers are educated enough, it is a great opportunity for children if they could start learning a foreign language when they are in the primary school.