Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Over the years with developing relations among nations mankind has recognized the need for foreign languages. As a result, learning a foreign language at an early age has become a controversial issue in the modern community. Society may be divided into a couple of stratums, where one group tends to assess primary school as the most appropriate place for foreign language obtaining whilst the other ones insist on secondary school period. I will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of the topic and express my opinion on this matter.

On the one hand, the statistic shows the majority of modern children suffer from speech disorders and the latters become a serious challenge for them to cope with the basics. As elementary school involves plenty of new and important subjects, the acquisition of these disciplines becomes an inalienable part of children’s development while the second language can deteriorate the process. For instance, a significant majority of first-graders has serious difficulties with writing skills confusing “b” and “d” even in their mother tongue language. Thus, foreign languages at an early age can influence negatively and distract from fundamental ability development.FD

On the other hand, young school boys and girls own perfect memory by means of which they are able to master foreign languages within a short period of time. Studying becomes one of the most appealing processes where learners feel confident and gulp each word as quickly as possible possessing ideal abilities. For example, according to the survey conducted by psychologists a large portion of preschoolers showed the best score in the process of new terms and phrases memorizing. In other words, the earlier schoolchildren start training, the better result they will achieve.

Taking everything into consideration, it can be concluded in the frame of contemporary lifestyle literate humans are expected to know minimum two foreign languages. Under these circumstances primary schools are the best places to enhance our children's language ability.