Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The learning in the elementary school builds the foundation of knowledge in the kids. Therefore, many thinkers consider a better option to learn a non- native language in the primary school rather than secondary school. It is argued that the start of acquiring an overseas language in the early age has more advantages than the disadvantages. This will be proved by looking at the skills; cognitive development and language proficiency in the kids.

First, it is believed that a bilingual child has the finer development of cognition expertise than a monolingual child. For example, in the India, a study has shown that the primary school students, who can speak two languages, have performed well in the ability to focus, grasping the expertness and understanding through thoughts, experiences and senses as compared to the monolingual kids and adults. From the above instance, it is clear that the bilingual children are more creative and intellectual, which are the key traits for successful career, than the monolingual toddler. Thus, the pros of the phenomenon to begin the study of remote language in the childhood outweigh the cons.

Further, the primary school pupils, who can communicate in external language also, have the superior language proficiency than the other students. For illustration, a research, in the Canada, has demonstrated that starting foreign language learning in the childhood increases the level of expertise in the reading, writing and speaking compared in a child to those who began in the middle school. As a result of this, the bilingual young one will be more successful in his life than its other peers. Hence, the method of giving an earlier dose of bilingualism to a toddler has validated its superiority rather than high school.

After the examination of the above points, it has been verified that the process of the gaining command over non-native communication has more merits than the drawbacks. In my opinion, every school’s administration should adapt this technique for the bright future of its students.