Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, it is generally understood that everyone have to learn at least one foreign language, and every school around the world included some of the foreign languages in their curriculum. Now the question is whether teaching children at primary school is the better approach comparing to secondary school. In following I will address this question and I will discuss its merits and demerits.

First of all, many people argue that children must begin learning foreign language as soon as possible, in this regard they point out to many research and survey which patently support such an opinion. For instance, according to a recent research conducted by Harvard University, children at early ages have 40% higher potential for learning language, and of course this is one of the reason that children very quickly without any specific teaching technique start speaking at very early ages.

In addition, another reason to backing of the idea of learning foreign languages at primary school rather than secondary school is the fact that at lower ages children possess high lasting memory, this means any knowledge and information which children learn in their early years of their life would last much more that any other period of their life. For example, I learned alphabet when I was four years old, despite the fact that 25 years have passed from that day and I never practiced it afterward yet I remember it crystal clear like I learned it yesterday.

However, there are some people who oppose the statement, and they believe it would be better if children learn foreign language at secondary school. To support their idea they can mention some of demerits of learning another language at primary school. To begin, they may argue that at primary school and in that early age giving heavy curriculum to children may put extra pressure on them, and as a result it would cause educational decline for them. Moreover, at that early ages children are already struggling to fulfill their mother tongue and learning another language at the same time could confuse them.

To sum up, I personally believe despite some demerits for learning foreign languages at primary school still I think its merits overweight the demerits, therefor, I totally support the idea of learning foreign language at primary school