Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary schools. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the debate of whether or not pupils should adapt a foreign language in elementary level in lieu of secondary level has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although this suggestion is not without merits, its demerits will be far more significant.

There are a myriad of manifest benefits of this trend. First, adopting a new language helps young children, especially those aged 6-11 , gain better performances at schools thanks to memory enhancement. A recent study in Vietnam reveals that those pupils at primary schools learning English at their early age tend to memorize images and knowledge of other subjects such as Math, Computer Science longer than those who do not, leading to getting good records. Second, students in elementary level may find it more undemanding to learn a foreign language as they do not have to carry a heavy workload like secondary students do. In fact, pupils in primary schools just learn fundamental subjects like writing and reading , whereas there are a multitude of subjects required to understand in secondary level such as Physics, Chemistry, and History, implying that adopting new languages in this age is suitable.

Nonetheless, the advantages above can be easily overshadowed by an array of pitfalls. One of the drawbacks is that since kids in this young age group need to have a full understanding of their mother tongues first, acquiring new languages may make them shoulder more pressure. This means that they may feel stressed and confused between using their root language and foreign one in a right context, leading to their mental downturn. In addition, it is likelihood that primary students could not learn other languages effectively as they are easy to get distracted by other factors. Plenty of evidence suggests that children’s brain in the age category (6-11 years old) is prone to be attracted by other fun alternatives such as toys, comics and television far more than learning , implying that learning foreign languages in this age is a waste of time .

In conclusion, although the suggestion that pupils should acquire knowledge from foreign language in elementary level appears plausible, it can do more harm than good. By weighing up the pros and cons, the families and headers of schools can make the best determination for children.