Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about whether punishments for crimes should be fixed. Although there are some advantages of fixed punishments, I believe that it is better to judge each crime individually.

There are some good arguments for having one set punishment for each crime. Firstly, it would be easy to assess whether a person performs crimes or not and criminals have to be responsible for what they have done as the existence of such punishments. Secondly, everyone is aware of the punishment for each crime so that this leads to a safe society in which crime does not exist and all citizens ...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.