Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Today, somebody argue that high school programs should be involved of unpaid community services. They count several objects to justify their claims, however I disagree with them.

At first, I believe that unpaid compulsory works have many negative psychological points for high school students. These types of activities could harm their self-confidence as well as their characteristics that would be a threat for the societies. The experiences of similar activities in developing countries show a group of drawbacks. As a consequence, many of young people have the least tendency to have active attitudes in their workspaces.

Secondly, I think that compulsory tasks have not suitable and acceptable results. In other words, since students have to participate in the aforementioned jobs, they do not concentrate effectively. Because of that, a regime of constant inspections is necessary to evaluate the final results. I would guess that these cases take a lot of time and need a significant investment.

In addition, I do not expect valuable and reasonable gains behind this decision. The schedule of high schools should be full of well organized courses. Moreover, students could be motivated to be more helpful for the human society. Beside this, they could be encouraged to volunteer in improvements of neighborhood, teaching sports to younger kids, and so on.

In conclusion, I mentioned that useful courses and positive cultural activities can be appropriate alternatives to compulsory unpaid community tasks in schools. In this way, they learn to develop their potentials, increase the quality of their life, and have more participation in their societies. As well as his, it could be a significant step to making the more powerful future.