Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly believed that doing some working for charities are good for teenagers to improve their awareness of environment and life. Some people says that it is should be part of high school activities. However, being a volunteer is not only a compulsory for young adults, but also old people. This essay will argue the reason of the statement above.

As we know, most people nowadays tend to give responsibility of charities for young generation. For instance; teaching sports to younger children, collecting fund for social charity, and others. Basically, it is good and it is not totally wrong. Nevertheless, adult should not give all of tasks to young adult. There are some reasons related to it. Firstly, adult is a role model for teenagers. Because of it, young generation will imitate adult’s behavior. For example, they might do not want to do actions of charity like cleaning the environment due to their model do not the same things. Secondly, teenagers do not feel social actions are their responsibility due to old people do not give them examples by doing it jobs. Thirdly, doing the social actions is good for old people. It can improve their health in term of psychology and increase their quality of life. Such as, visit patient with terminal illness or donate for funding.

Based on the explanation above, it can be concluded that working for charities are not only for senior high school programs, but also for people who have genuine heart and responsible to educate young generation for better life.