Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that high school programmes should introduce compulsory unpaid community services, being working for a charity, fixing the neighbourhood, helping poor people or teaching sports to younger children. As every compulsory activity, there are two different schools of thought. This essay will compare and evaluate the pros and cons.

Firstly, looking for the advantages, it would be beneficial to a whole community if this initiative became compulsory. It would also increase and improve the numbers of welfare and community achievements. I believe the students would receive the most benefit from this practice rather than the people that they are helping, as they will learn how to after children, seniors and poor families, in addition, will be prepared to be better citizens to our country.

In addition, students should have contact with people beyond their family, cycle of friends and school, by expanding and putting in contact with people from different culture and environment. The skills learned by voluntary work can add a rich experience when looking for a job and being complementary to university requirements.

In contrast, analysing the other school of thought, some people argue that community services are solely the responsibility of Government and their Departments and students cannot fulfil this important gap. In addition, any compulsory topic is subject to controversial opinions as may or may not be seriously conducted and performed.

In conclusion, there are positive and negative consequences by having compulsory community service. In my opinion, I agree that the whole community and students will be better off by working in a project like unpaid services and spreading benefits to a numerous chain of stakeholders.