Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and other measures are required.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Improving public health is a primary concern of today's society. Some people have strong opinion that this could be achieved by increasing the number of sports facilities, whereas others oppose this view point and believe that this will have negligible effect on public health and recommend other measures. Both sides of the argument will be discussed in this essay before drawing any logical conclusion.

One of the main reasons why people argue that increasing the number of sports facilities will result in significant improvement on public health is that people could spend some time on the sports. It is an universal fact that if we involve in any sports regularly our health will improve dramatically. Therefore, when there are number of sports facilities available in the community, people will be attracted to utilize them and finally it will help to improve their health.

On the other hand, it can also be argued that merely improving sports facilities doesn't guarantee the improvement of public health significantly for several reasons. One of the reasons is that these facilities will not be utilized by everyone. Those who are only talented at the sports are attracted to utilize them whereas others who are not good at any sports don't involve in using any sports facilities due to the embarrassment among peers. Another reason is that prosperity of public health mainly depends on several other factors such as proper water supply and sanitation system, awareness about the hygiene in the family etc. So if we neglect these fundamental requirements, there is no use of sports facilities to improve the public health. Therefore, it is understandable that other measures should be adopted to improve public health rather than providing sports facilities.

In conclusion, sports facilities have certain benefits to the community health, however, due to other factors which are mainly responsible for overall public health, improving sports facilities will not help significantly to improve public health.