Some people think it is more important for government to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on the treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Concerning the issue of the government spends public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness, it is believed that there is more important to spend it on the treatment of people who are already ill. As far as I am concerned, I do totally agree with the statement for several reasons which will be given out in this essay.

First of all, it can be said with the certainty that preventing is better than cure. The key explanation is possibly because nowadays people are occupied with their career and family so that they usually eat fast food or unhealthy foods. That may be lead some chronic illness on the human body. However, these health issues could be prevented by having a balanced diet and regular exercise. For instance, the British Government recommends eating five portions of fruit and vegetable per day, this result in a decrease in the rate of people with diabetes.

Second of all, a special consideration in this case is that spending money on promoting healthy lifestyle could save a lot of money and effort. The main basis is probably because running campaigns or sports day is much cheaper and more effectively. For example, an activity name Color me run in my country not only to relax together but also a great and efficient way to educate people about the importance of daily exercises.

Last but not least, it is supposed that spending money on treatment for patients is waste of money. This is a clear evidence because some diseases such as cancer or asthma can not be cured, which is just useless if governments focus on. Instead of that, governments can spend money to help poor people have a chance to approach medical treatments.

Taking everything into consideration, people have to weigh up in their thoughts to what extent this issues should be supported. However, the discussions are convincing enough to lead me to the conclusion that spending money on promoting healthy lifestyles is better than providing medical treatment for people who are already ill.