some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. what, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

People have differing views about what the real function of a university is. I would argue that universities should fulfill both roles and there would be some advantages of these two functions for the students and society.

To begin with, there are some vocational degree courses that provide training for a specific job, however, there are also some courses which do not lead to a particular job. Some occupations such as waitressing and nurses necessitate years of training before working officially. Such jobs even require not only training but also little academic background even though this knowledge is not vital for the students who pursue these for their career. Such a vast amount of skills in training must be retained to get these jobs and all the stages should be passed before being permitted to work. Nevertheless, there are some courses that might not be needed for a particular job, such as, painters and securities who have no need of studying science so that these kinds of jobs do not compile applicants to do some training and perhaps they do not have to learn some knowledge which universities provide.

I believe that there would be some benefits to both the students and society of the two types of courses. Learning specific knowledge for some students could be a relaxing activity, for example, those who are keen on mathematics think that they could express themselves, who really they are and that it is a symbol of their identity. These students are less likely to feel stressed of their problems and burdens at school. Another advantage would be for society who want to get a shining career to support their qualifications by learning some requires knowledge and doing some training that could be useful in the workplace.

In conclusion, it would be a must for universities to educate their students by giving vocational skills and knowledge for its own sake which will probably be advantageous for both the students and society.