Some people think that universities should provide graduates the knowledge and skills needed in the work place. Others think the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

Nowadays many companies, institutes and other employers are complaining of the poor skills of their junior employees. Hence, they are raising their voices to universities and higher education centers to provide their students the skills required for the work. However, there are arguments both for and against this issue. Personally, I believe that universities should add the required knowledge and skills recommended by the employers to their usual courses.

On the one hand, many students’ motives, behind their engagement in certain faculties is to prepare themselves for their future career. For instance, candidates who apply for certain faculties like medicine, engineering, aviation and law are planning to become physicians, engineers, pilots and lawyers respectively, in other words, they are not taking these courses for the sake of knowledge only. Thus, universities should provide those students with the special knowledge and skills required to help them in their career.

In addition, most graduates get involved in certain jobs immediately after graduation, and they have not had enough time to develop the skills needed for that position. Therefore, their undergraduate courses should include these prerequisites.

On the other hand, taking this issue from the perspective of universities’ leaders and teachers, they have developed each course in order to achieve a certain goal. Thus, they cannot change the courses’ content just because employers need specific skills in the graduates that apply for them. However, new courses could be introduced into the curriculum to improve students’ skills and knowledge for certain workplaces.

To conclude, there are strong arguments both for and against providing university graduates specific work skills and knowledge. In spite of the claims that have been made by the universities’ leaders about courses goals, personally I believe that the knowledge and skills required for the future workplace should be taught in universities, because finding a post is the main goal for almost all of the students.