Successful sports professionals can earn a great deal more money than people in other important professions. Some people think this is fully justified while others think it is unfair.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

While advocates believe professional athletes deserve well their enormous salaries, many detractors claim this is unjust for other occupations. Both sides of the debate will be considered below.

There are numerous reasons for paying high for sports professionals. Firstly, sports-related jobs are short-term employment which only last for 5 to 10 years. Therefore, professional athletes must earn a large amount of money to prepare financially for their retirement. Secondly, athletes always face the risk of injury which may end their sport careers. For example, a basketball player with a broken arm caused by fouls in battles could be eliminated from the basketball world forever. Finally, in order to have excellent performances, professional players have to sacrifice their hobbies for their jobs. Take swimming athletes as instance, they must avoid alcohol intake and stimulant to reduce cardiovascular risk and enhance respiratory system.

On the other hand, opponents think sport players should not be paid much more than those of other professions. Initially, people of other professions also have to work hard to earn their living and succeed in life. They contribute to society not less than sports athletes in all aspects; thus, they need to have the same level of payment. Moreover, if there are too many high paid sport professions, this leads to the large income gap between the rich and the poor. In case the government wants to propose a general health insurance for community, the fee may not be significant for the elite but may be too expensive for the others.

In conclusion, professional athletes should have high payment because of their dedications, injury risks and short-term incomes. From my point of view, money needs to be spent multiple on sport salary to encourage athletes pay more attention on their careers.