These days more fathers stay at home and take care of their children while mothers go out to work. What could be the reasons for this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

As an olden prejudice, women always took on the role of a housewife who spent most of their time taking care of children and doing chores. However, prejudice is gradually vanishing due to several reasons. Nowadays, there is an expanding number of fathers who are willing to stay at home, look after their offsprings and let their wives get to business. In my opinion, this is a positive development.

In recent years, gender equality is strongly supported worldwide and it opens a wide range of opportunities for the women to build themselves a stable career and even become the primary breadwinner in the family. Nevertheless, the larger the amount of time women devote to work, the less time they can spend at home for their children. In those cases, more fathers tend to make a sacrifice to resign their job and stay at home bringing up their offsprings with adroitness. Furthermore, people are now more open to that actual situation, therefore, those fathers can gain more social support for their decision.

From my perspective, this trend has various positive effects on different aspects. With regard to the youngsters, while between them and their mother has already formed a strong bond, the time father stays at home can help him establish a more close-knit relationship with their children. The father’s parental style also has a profound influence on a child’s physical and behavioral development as well as the children, especially the male, who will grow up with greater empathy and an open mind about the gender roles in society. Moreover, the mother can reduce childcare stress and have more opportunities to chasing their career and gain achievements regardless of the historical stereotype.

In conclusion, the gender equality trend in modern life helps the stay-at-home dad receive more social supports and that decision is a positive development with plenty of advantages which not only for the parents but also for their children.