Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of society in which they are sold.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Today, there are many advertisements those are currently showed on television, radio, internet or billboard and those devices are easily found everywhere even in public places. Since there are a lot of advertisements showed, the advertisement producer is competing each other in order to produce creative advertisement that attract people to buy the product. Through this creative advertisement, it rises the sales of goods in which most of people purchasing the product because they want to buy it and not because they need it.

The company will have no doubt to spend much money on one advertisement. They are willing to pay much money for a popular actor or actress, a creative idea and other factors that produce a good advertisement because a successful advertisement brings out a successful sales of product. People are easy to purchase the product that is familiar than the one which is unfamiliar for them even though that unfamiliar product is better and a very well-known actor or actress in the advertisement will be easily remembered by people and so a creative idea.

The familiar product also persuade people to buy it without considering whether or not they need it. For example, a mother whose money is necessarily need to spend on vegetables, fruits, bread and other daily need, yet the mother will choose to spend most of her money on her favorite bag or shoes.

So, I definitely agree that the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.