Topic: Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Advertising and marketing play a pivotal role in boosting the sales of consumer products. To a certain extent, I agree that advertising attract society to purchase more than needed. However, I also think that particular products can only be bought when they are needed despite a huge impact of advertising on such products.

Consumer products like electronic goods and drinks are being demanded at the peak than they are required. A giant electronic company like apple, they launch products every year, as a result of effective promotional strategies, the company sells millions of products each year inspite that their products last longer than one year. Similarly, drinks turnover is on the top of level due to their enormous amount of marketing which attracts younger people to consume more.

On the other hand, it is no matter how much you advertised certain products like popular daily use medicines, it would only be sold when needed. Take strepsills medicines for example, it can be noticed through hoardings and posters that they advertise a lot. However, income stream for such products is very limited and static every year as it is the product of real needs. Thus, society demands some products according to their requirements and not based on the reflection of advertising.

To sum up, there is no doubt that few products like technological and drinks are sold than needed, although, some products like pharmaceutical can not be attracted for high sales unless prescribed.