Traffic congestion in major cities is an increasing problem, yet there is an environmental impact to be considered when building new roads. What can be done about this problem?

Issues related to traffic jam are frequently discussed these days as a matter of controversy. Traffic congestion causes many problems in big cities; however, road construction in order to tackle these problems has its own drawbacks. This essay will examine many of these problems and disuss some potential solutions.

Firstly, air pollution, which is mostly due to co2 emissions from cars, is one of the most devastating problems in major cities. It could perpetuates global warming which has significant detrimental effects on the planet. Secondly, people have to spend several hours per day in traffic jam and it could have negative impacts on their physical and mental health.

One solution to tackle above problem in building new freeways and roads to lessen the volum of cars on the road. Nevertheless, it possess many disadvantages. For instance, road construction may necessitate to change the ecosystem of the sites that are under construction. Deforestation, impacts on the lifestyle of indigenous people and effects on animal habitats are a few examples of many harmful effects on environment.

In terms of solution, governments should be very sensitive regarding these problems and a careful planning must be considered. Construction plans which have the least impact on environment and local individuals should be taken into account. Encouraging people to drive high efficient cars and more environmentally friendly vehicles could be an alternative method. The last but not least implication is to support and improve public transportation system in major cities in order to reduce needs for new road construction.

In conclusion, despite the fact that traffic congestion and building new roads produce numerous problems in metropolitan cities, in my opinion, improvement of public transportation, careful construction planning, and considering the impact of road building on the environment by the governments could tackle these problems to some extent.