Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information about the defendant's past criminal record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime.

Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and that a jury should be given all the past facts before they reach their decision about the case .

Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answers.

Deeds in criminal case have achieved reputation as the most complicated ones. In Britain and Australia this case is even more impeded by the question of acquaintance of a jury by previous criminal actions of a defendant. Some lawyers suggested that jury should be informed of the previous cases. However, the accused person is defended from such kind of practice by the law of those countries. In my opinion, this question requires more careful consideration.

Initially, the practice of informing the jury of the criminal past of the accused prevents objective evaluation of the whole situation. J...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.