Young people are much more aware of and concerned about issues like the environment, poverty, and animal welfare than previous generations. What is your own opinion?

Some people believe that in comparison with previous generations, youngsters are more worried about some matters such as environment, poverty, and animal welfare. However, to some extent I concur with this perspective and following descriptions are going to clarify my opinion.

On one hand, I think young people have a keener sense of responsibility about their surroundings because they have more information about all fields and are more educated. It is self-explanatory that with the passage of time people have invented state-of-the-art equipment such as microscopes and have accessed modern technologies. So in this situation humans are able to find out the reasons of existence of all creatures in all over the globe. Furthermore, with this level of knowledge they cannot be indifferent to things around themselves. For instance, in the past people used to think that cockroaches had no role in the world but these days scientists have found the mystery of their presence. Consequently, people despite having an aversion to this sort of insect, are conscious of its benefits and care about it.

On the other hand, in my point of view no one can argue against the fact that new generations have had some deleterious effects on the nature to make it more urbanized and modern. For example, these days a myriad of gardens and trees have been chopped down to make way for skyscrapers and block apartments. Besides, some power stations and factories have polluted seas and air. Also it deserves considerations that sometimes a high level of knowledge causes some catastrophes. Take for example a country that uses nuclear weapons against another one and this nefarious use of science shows a sense of selfishness and arrogance between people.

In a nutshell, despite the fact that young people are more altruistic and care about their surroundings more than people in the past, they have had some harmful effects on the nature.