Accomodation and transport problems are increasing in many large cities. Businesses are encouraged to move to rural areas . Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages ?

Many people believe that in order to solve housings and transportation issues in many big cities today, governments should relocate businesses to the countryside. While I accept such policies can have some benefits, I would argue that the drawbacks it has are more significant.

On the one hand, moving businesses to suburban areas can solves some major problems. Firstly, by relocating big organisations, many transportation issues in the city centre coule be solved. The relocations of businesses mean office workers will have to change their commuting habits. Everyday, they will go outside the city centre, which helps solving traffic congestion in the urban areas. Secondly, in order to save time, many workers will move to the countryside, resulting in the reduction of population density in the city. A smaller number of people living in the city means the housings problems will be less significant.

On the other hand, these policies can have some drawbacks. The first one is that far away businesses will adversely affect citizens' lives. Moving businesses to the rural areas means that people will have to spend more time for transportation. For example, supermarkets being moved to suburban areas will make daily shopping cost more time and energy for city shoppers. Additionally, the relocations will make the links between businesses disappear. The reason why many businesses choose to stay in the city is to saving costs. Imagine if suppliers have to travel hundred kilometers more to reach consumers, such changes can result in the loss of billion dollars per year. By located in the city, businesses can perform in the most effective way.

In conclusion, I believe that the drawbacks of businesse relocations outweigh its benefits.