Advertising discourages people from being different individuals by making us want to be and to look the same. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are a debated topic that wheather advertising diminish the uniqueness of individuals by making people have the same lifestyle. Personally, I disagree with this opinion.

The power of advertising is undeniable. The significant growth of advertising industry has influenced on shopping choices of consumers. Advertising provides people with useful information about products, so they can decide wheather they should buy products or not. Therefore, many people buy products of the same manufacture after watching advertising because they find it proper with their aim. For example, a big company that dominate most the market share is Unilever, they push their marketing campaigns by advertising frequently on the television. This make people all over the world can aware of and buy the company’s products.

However, the difference of individuals is not lessen because of advertising. On the one hand, people have ability to avoid becoming the victims of advertisements. People have different characteristics, so when they tend to buy a product, they will take into consideration that wheather this product is approriate with their real situation. Besides, there is a growing tendency that people want to specialize themselves. People, especially young people, are ambitious for proving they are unique and they are not look like someone else. For example, many cosmetic branches or clothing branches have promoted and launched some limited products every year such as lipsticks or shirts. This has impacts on the expectation of many people of becoming distinctive.

In conclusion, I firmly hold the view that advertisements do not make people less specific.