The best way for governments to solve the problem of traffic congestion is providing free public transport in 24 hours per day, and seven days a week.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that the problem of traffic jam should by tackled by giving people free bus and train passes at all time whenever they need. While I accept that may suit many people, I believe that government should give more solutions to tackle this problem.

On the one hand, there are a variety reasons why helping people easily access to public transports without paying the fee is beneficial in some ways. First, the using of bus and trains would help to ease traffic flow. If the government issue free bus and train passes for people in their countries, this would encourage more people to use public transport instead of driving their car to go offices or schools. Furthermore, using free public transports can help people avoid rush hour traffic jams. For example, if every people chose to drive their car to go home, the traffic would more worst that waste them a lot of time on the roads.

On the other hand, governments should consider giving more solutions to solve the traffic congestion. Firstly, people who do not abide by the rules of the roads should be severely punished. For example, in Viet Nam, when people try to cross red lights, they must be paid about 200,000 VND for their guiltiness. Secondly, one way to reduce traffic problems in the cities is to upgrade and expand transportation provision. This may lead to ease traffic flow in city centres and the surrounding area.

In conclusion, it is certainly true that giving people free public transportations can be an important factor to solve traffic jam, but this is by no means the key consideration for governments in solving this problem.