The best way to resolve the international environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that raising fuel price is the best solution to tackle global environmental issues. In my view, we may not alleviate environmental problems effectively when we go up the cost of fuel. Instead of, there were many alternative options to protect our environment.

Clearly, the price of fuel has little to do with dealing with problems of pollution. The travelling and transportation of goods using private vehicles are inevitable demands because it might be very convenient and time-saving. Also, the fuel may be playing a significant role in industrial zones and residential areas, so people need to pay for it any cost to support their life and keep their work. Additionally, the fuel price rise is a primary reason to indirectly put up the cost of the majority of essential commodities, which lead to the difficulty in expenditure. As a result, this thing could easily trigger social disagreement and resentment.

On the other hand, I would suggest that there are more effective ways to tackle international environmental problems. Firstly, the government could implement certain regulations restricting the use of private vehicles such as cars, motorbikes and encourage people to use public transportation by increasingly collecting of the annual road maintenance fee. Secondly, the development substitute energy sources should be considered by utilizing green resources like wind and solar energy. Since they not only do not release pollutants into the environment but also are inexhaustible and sustainable energy sources.

In conclusion, I believe that heightening the price of fuel to solve global environmental issues is not a complete measure. Instead, the government may adopt alternative solutions whose the effectiveness should be considered carefully.