Biotechnology companies all over the world are developing different types of genetically modified (GM) crops. However, not enough is known about the effects of these crops on our health and on environment. Inferring with nature in this way should be prohibited. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Biotechnology improves our standard of living by helping with the maintenance of health diet. Some people claims that since this has unproven risks involved in our health, so it should be prohibited. However, I believe that, despite with this side effect, the potential future growth in this field is worth more. Therefore, it should not be prohibited.

Genetically modified Crops (GM) have not yet proven for all consequences. Firstly, it could affect the health of human. Since GM foods are scientifically intervened to increase nutritional quality, it can result in some allergic reactions. Also it is not end with an allergic reaction, it can have other side effects because the consequences of this type of food has not been examined. Secondly, there would be some damages on the soil. The more biotechnology is used, the more nutrients and vitamins are drained from the soil. In other words, the crops will have no fruitful, since GM food has been absorbed all the nutrients from the earth. Lastly, there is a potential unexpected pollination across the crop field. When the GM foods are being planted, there is a high probability that the pollination will be occurring across the land. The consequences of phenomenon of these mixed foods are unknown.

Despite with all these fearful future consequences, the GM produces future opportunities to grow. The use of biotechnology makes the foods to be available throughout the year by efficient land usage, despite the climate unsustainable due to the global warming. Therefore, people can enjoy from constant healthy diet all year round by foods being available during unconventional growing seasons. Since GM foods have maximised all the benefits (enhance the nutritional values), people could obtain more valuable and rich substances of nutrients from food so that they can manage their eating habit. Improved the quality of GM food will lead a less eating habit due to the sustain satiation. Thus, it can put a halt in the world hunger issue.

In conclusion, it is understandable for people to fear for the consequences of man-made food since the results of such a product are unknown. However, prevent of such a product can limit future growth for biotechnological experiments. Therefore it is not recommended to be prohibited.