Central and local governments make a frantic attempt to promote festivals to create a lot of revenue. Some people think this money should be invested in social programmes for the poor. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

The local and central governments make desperate attempts in the promotion of festivals, in order to generate massive revenue. However, many believe this financial investment ought to be used to create social programmes for the poor. I completely agree with this view because this will help alleviate the poor masses from poverty and support them into gaining employment.

There are ample of reasons why the government should invest in social programmes for the poor rather than pursue the promotion of festivals. One of the major reason is that, social programmes will introduce variety of skills for poor people to learn and create an avenue for self-employment and other job positions in the society. Invariably, this will create more revenue for the government compared to festivals and reduce dependence on social benefits from poor citizens. For example, according to the minister of labour in Turkey, the introduction of social intervention programmes in 2018, led to the creation of more jobs, particularly self-employment, thus, a direct result of skills acquired from social programs.

Nevertheless, many argue that indeed, the government promoting festivals will generate huge revenue and as a result increase tourist investments and add financial gains to the economy. This, however cannot be compared to the long term benefits of eradicating the poverty levels in the society. Reducing poverty levels in the society is far more important, again, because this will help reduce crime levels, encourage more start-up businesses and ultimately boost steadily the economy of the country.

In conclusion, even though promoting festivals can bring revenue and tourist to the society, l believe this a fraction of the benefits of creating socal programmes for the poor masses, as this can bring new skills, employment opportunities and grow the economy of the society in tremendous proportions.