Children should be listened.

Children living under the auspices of their families are often deemed too immature to make their own decisions. Adults’ disregard towards their opinions sparks tension between two generations. While some people take a dim view of youngsters’ choices, I believe that teenagers are grown-up enough to decide on their own. If the mature let things orbit like that, every generation can live happily and innovatively.

Youngsters can hold grudges towards their caregivers on account of not being respected and confined from doing things on their own. If parents coddle their children too much, it can render them dependent on their parents, paralyzed and bewildered by unexpected vicissitudes of life. For instance, in a conservative community like Asia, the zeitgeist there dictates that children opposing to their parents, even in steering their own life, are unfilial and impertinent, which only serves to drag down the development velocity of society and dampens the value of being young and fearless. An abundance of adolescents after accomplishing required tasks, namely attending the university their parents want, feels like a pathetic unsaddled horse having no clue what to do after being given a free rein. Their life then is rudderless, which can be a reason for their resentment towards their parents, worsening familial relationships.

Moreover, adults need to resign to the fact that children have their own belief systems. Were parents to listen to their kids, many revolutionary ideas would be emancipated. Greta Thunberg, an environment activist or the national heroine Vo Thi Sau set the finest examples that young people can contribute to drastically positive change in the world as long as they are listened. Furthermore, this can help bridge the generation chasm and improve children-parent relationships. This is manifested the most expressly in western cultures where kids are given more chances to voice their opinions.

In conclusion, the youth is the pillar of any country. Regardless of their age, it’s ignorant to entrench the idea that they are frivolous and turbulent. Adults need to listen, youngsters need to speak up, both will make progress for their community.