In countries (where there is high unemployment) most pupils should be offered only primary

education; there is no point in offering secondary education to those who will have no hope

of finding a job. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Chronic joblessness has been highlighted as an emerging issue, escaping broader public attention. Although the suggestion prioritising formal secondary education for academically- promising students over hopeless ones appears reasonable, it could be fraught with many pitfalls.

On the one hand, students should be offered equal secondary education opportunities irrespective of their primary academic perfomances. Since primary education only equip students with rudimentary knowledge such as reading, writing and numeracy skills for their social integration rather than academic expertise related to future occupations, students’ employment prospects could not be precisely anticipated. For instance, many individuals with subpar primary attainments could perform outstandingly in subjects not taught in primary educational insitutions such as formal literacy, athletic sports and languages, thereby raising their employablity.

On the other hand, the suggestion could have a multitude of negative ramifications. First, as outstanding primary performers are usually in minority, prioritising these individuals could culminate in the oversaturation of human recources but the insufficiency in educated workforce, which could hamper the national economic development. Second, people without proper secondary education are invariably associated with structural unemployment in a nation. It is implied that these unemployable workers have to recline on pecuniary unemployment assistance from the government, constituting a large chunk of national monetary budget, reducing capital injections into other public sectors such as infrastructure or healthcare.

In conclusion, I strongly disagree with the initiative of not giving secondary education to students based on their primary achivements. This practice could result in great negative effects on national economic advancements and societies’ living standards in the long term.