Currently there is a trend towards the use of alternative forms of medicine. However, at best these methods are ineffective, and at worst they may be dangerous.

To what extent do you agree with this statement?

As more and more people start to looking for alternative medicines for costly and incurable disease like cancer, there is a popular view that these methods could be either ineffective or even a threat to the user. However, I disagree with this view.

Admittedly, there are obvious risks for alternative medicine users. The reason behind these risks posed by these unconventional medical treatments is the efficacy is or cannot be proven, which means there is not scientific way to prove it actually works or not. In addition to this side, there also exist potential danger to users, as the medicine they took may contain harmful substances which could hinder the process of normal treatments.

However, what we could not ignore is that small amount of these unconventional treatment may help the patients in a way beyond existing scientific explanations. Indeed, the development of science is full of struggle to conventions, and it also applied to some alternative method of medical treatments. To put it in other words, just because we cannot prove the alternatives are right, does not mean they are wrong. It is possible that we are actually on the way to understand it. A good example is the traditional Chinese medical treatment, which was denied by western academics for centuries, is now acknowledged as a branch of medical science. And more importantly studies show that it is in fact an excellent way in treating chronic inflammatory diseases.

To summarize, I think is reasonable for some people to keep a skeptical attitude towards alternative medicines in general, but there are also great alternatives which could be helpful to patients and we definitely need to do more research on it.