In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing population.

As society develops, the longevity becomes a common sense. However, due to this, the several problems could affect at different levels of society. While individuals suffer from a huge tax burden in order to support elders, society will suffer from ageing employees which could prevent the economy to move forward. Therefore, longevity is needed an immediate approach to put a halt to it by tackling down with number of approaches.

The medical technology has been developed significantly. As a result of this, the average of people’s age is increasing and it is common to expect to live about 100 years. Due to this longevity, there are several problems that affect society at a different level.

Individuals have to pay higher taxes in order to support for elders’ various entitlements such as pensions, health care and superannuation. In the case of Australia, 1 young employee has to cover for 5 elders to pay off all their entitlements in the form of taxes. Therefore, the income taxes are rising every year and which make it difficult for young people to save up their money for themselves.

Meanwhile, society will be suffered from having too many senior employees, because they will not retire at an early age for the bored and loneliness reasons. This would be problematic because elders tend to be the risk averse and this is difficult to survive in this fast pace, innovative world. For example, Tesla has invented for auto pilot cars while Samsung created bio-metric identification and these were possible due to creative and innovative thought by young generations. As a result of this, it appears that the immediate action is required.

To solve this issue, the number of methods can be used. Firstly, the government can manage the tax more effectively. Instead of using young employee’s taxes to pay off elder’s entitlement, use young employees’ taxes to invest for the better payments for elder’s entitlement later on. Finally, society also can provide programs where elders can be innovative by training them to be used to the newest technologies. By providing this number of approaches at different level, it can solve effectively.

In conclusion, the longevity can create various problems to society and individuals in the form of taxes and the huge amount of retirement issues. To solve this issue, the government and the society can provide the appropriate solutions together.