In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

In many countries, people can expect to live longer nowadays than they did in the past. However, this proliferation is causing many problems that directly affect the society as well as individuals. People should take action to address these issues as soon as possible.

The growth of aging populations is accompanied with a lot of related problems. First of all, people of retirement age receive pensions as their welfare, which will lead to a greater tax burden for working adults since the number of young people who are able to work become smaller. Additionally, there will be a rise in the demand for healthcare. Young adults will have to look after their elderly relatives, which will be pressure on them.

There are some actions that could be taken to mitigate these problems. Firstly, the governments should increase the retirement age of citizens, which will help with the shortage of labors as well as give people more time to devote to their country and enjoy a productive working life. Moreover, national budgets should be spent on medical advances and health programs to help the elderly stay healthy and able to work longer. The government should also encourage immigration in order to increase the number of working adults who can pay taxes and contribute to the country’s development. One more measure would be investing on vital healthcare, accommodation and transport facilities due to the growth of older citizens.

In conclusion, increasing average life expectancy brings some negative effects but there are a variety of solutions to alleviate these problems