Education should be accessible to people of all economic backgrounds. All levels of education from primary school to tertiary education should be free. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Education ought to be readily available to everyone no matter their social status. Some people believe that all stages of acquiring education must be without cost. In my opinion, u disagree that going to school at any level should be without charge as it may not benefit individuals and the society.

A good reason why free education at all points is not favourable is that it would bring about the problem of lack of interest. For instance, studies have shown that students tend to take school more seriously when they have to pay for it. Additionally, as people, we haven an inclination to disregard things we obtain for free. As a result of this, there will be an increased drop rate or graduation of people who are not ready for workforce or the next stage. Consequently, if more people are able to earn a degree then the value of the school degree decreases.Furthermore, issues of overcrowding may also arise.

Another point to consider is that if education at all steps is free, maintenance problems will begin to come up. For example, most educational institutions generate a large proportion of their income, however, when going to school becomes cost free funds to pay staff and maintain buildings may no longer be readily available. Hence, government may be forced to increase tax rate and take aids from other important sectors and this would hurt the economy. Therefore, free education for all no matter the stage should not be contemplated.

In conclusion, education without charge would devalue education itself and bring about difficulties which are unfavourable.