Entertainment
Entertainment helps people relieve their pressure from work and study. However,
whilst recreational activities are getting increasingly diversified, many people unfortunately
find that they cannot get entertained as much as they did in the past.
In some areas, modern technology allows the expression of human creativity to go
unhindered. Indeed, with up-to-date computer graphics technology, some astonishing
special effects are frequently shown in Hollywood movies, particularly in some sciencefiction
works. Moreover, with the invention of the Internet, game lovers across the
globe can explore the fun of online entertainment in a virtual world full of mystery and
adventure.
Nevertheless, in most cases, the overuse of modern technology has made life less
entertaining than it could have been. Take the music industry as an example. Unlike
their predecessors who were constantly exploring life for inspiration and originality,
today's artists are confined to studios, relying on computerised processing and techniques
for their work. As a result, despite the mass production of popular songs and music, we
rarely find a truly remarkable piece. Imagine again those childhood games we all have
played such as "Hide and Seek" or "Drop the Handkerchief". Simple as they may be,
these activities offered us the real excitement of going outside and having fun with
our friends. By contrast, nowadays, an increasing number of people are following a
sedentary and isolated lifestyle due to the popularity of modern entertainment forms
such as watching TV and playing video games.
Given the above arguments, it is reasonable to assume that although modern technology
has made our life easier and more comfortable, it takes away the real pleasure of
creative entertainment.