The environment problem facing today's world are so great that there is little ordinary people can do to improve the situation. Government and large companies should responsible for the deducing the amount of damage being done to the environment. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

It is an alarming issue that environmental degradation is becoming more severe. While the government and enterprises should take their responsibilites for reducing the damage, I believe that individuals also aid to ameliorate the situation.

On the one hand, the government and companies should place a high priority on alleviating the problems. The government plays a leader role in maintaining the ordered society, meaning that they have the right to implement rules and regulations on citizens. To protect the environment, the government might impose green taxes on drivers, foster commuters taking public transport rather than driving. Due to the adverse impacts on environment, companies should take their actions too. They should invest in renewable energy from solar, wind or water power instead of consuming fossil fuel. This limits emissions from factories which are a vital factor in greenhouse effect leading to global warming.

On the other hand, individuals also help to reduce the negative effects on the environment. They can join one of the organizations which form part of the green movement, in order to campaign for people awareness. The rules of pollution reduction should be abided such as no smoking at public places, littering at prescribed places. By trying to be greener, customers should avoid buying over-packaged products and recycle as much as possible. For instance, they are encouraged to replace plastic material with reusable one on packaging. This slashes the vast amount of waste which does not break down easily after years.

In conclusion, along with draconian measures are taken by government and companies, I opine that law-abiding citizens also have a huge influence on environmental protection.