Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Today, the disappearance of languages is a controversial issue. It is claimed that fewer languages will make life easier. It would appear that the disadvantages of the idea cannot be overlooked.

On the one hand, since all our knowledge about the world has not been written, language extinction may result in loss of knowledge which has not been scientifically discovered yet. For example, in many areas agricultural information regarding, for instance, plant growth and soil gained through experience over centuries, has been transmitted orally. Therefore, when the indigenous languages disappear, agriculture in those area will be damaged. Moreover, from a scientific point of view, it has been proven that bilingualism or multilingualism can stave off dementia. This means that not only can preserving a language be effective for society but also it is useful for individuals. Hence, native speakers of an endangered language should consider keeping it alive when they need to learn a dominant language.

On the other hand, it goes without saying that language and culture are closely tied together and what can unite people is culture. This means that the fewer tongues are alive, the more people have similar culture which in turn leads to the more peaceful society and world. Perhaps, another supporting argument of the idea of better life with fewer languages is the fast growing relationships among people from all over the world. In fact, if individuals have to deal with fewer tongue in their connections, it will be easier for them to expand relationships.

In conclusion, language loss is an issue which is relevant to modern world. It would seem that the advantages of linguistic diversity outweigh its disadvantages. If a language die, both individuals and society will be affected negatively.