Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Learning a foreign language becomes the mandatory in today’s society as the world has been globalized. Now the issue is whether teaching this foreign language from primary school in order to master the bilingual skills or teaching students from secondary school once they mastered a mother tongue language. Both approaches have pros and cons, but I believe that teach a foreign language at primary school would bring more downsides such as language confusion and the possibility loss of student’s identity than that of advantage, which has only a single benefit of mastering a foreign language.

Due to globalization, learning a foreign language becomes important because it is people’s competitive advantages. By learning these skills from a young age, students can achieve a mastery skill of being bilingual, from using different languages between home and school. For example, in Korea, where children are speaking English only at school while they use Korean back home, managed perfect with their bilingual skills. If this continued, they can speak with languages easily and naturally and this means that they have a competitive advantage over other competitions for the future career.

In contrast to this benefit of languages in future career, it has a definite downside. Since the students are young and immature, they may have difficulties to distinct two or more languages separately. For instance, as with the example above, realistically, many children are suffering to use Korean at home and English at school because this also requires years of practice. They may use English at home and Korean at School for a while and then eventually they master of bilingual skills. However, not all children are and will be followed this path. Some are failed to master this skill and they stuck at language confusions which can lead to the confusion with their identities.

Furthermore, the continuous confusion with languages can put children in dilemma and that can lead to self-identity confusions. Even though children are young and immature, they recognize of their mistakes and failure in the use of languages. Once this event becomes frequent, students may lose interest in study as a whole as well as questioning of their existence. In the case of Asian countries, they sent many young children to Western countries to grasp of better education and for the competitive advantages. However, there are many of them who have difficulties to recover from their mistakes despite other external factors (environment, culture and loneliness). As a result, these downturns of children to suffer learning a new language cannot be considered to overweigh the benefits.

In conclusion, as the world grows into complicated big one world, learning of other languages becomes important for the future careers (easier conversation). Even though this benefit is advantageous for adult’s perspective, children may suffer from various psychological illnesses such as language confusions and identity dilemmas. Therefore, I do not believe that the advantages of this issue outweigh the disadvantages.