Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The variety of nations and cultures in the world lead the number of languages become uncounted. Every year several languages disappear due to natural result of the globalization process, while other languages become dominant around the world such as English language. Many of us assume that basically, people only need few languages to make easier interaction but other argued this notion. To my way of thinking, having similar languages will make people more convenient with each other and avoid potential discriminations even though it might endanger cultural existences.

Language is the key of interaction. Admittedly, similarity of languages could reduce language barrier and make communication easier. There is the fact that people tend to become silent and unwilling to interact when they meet someone who have different mother languages. Tourists; for example, prefer to use google to find any attractive locations than ask to local people who are more know about their place. More importantly, the differences of languages bring up gaps into community. The violation of human rights and discriminations happen unconsciously as long as we live in the developing world. Multinational companies; for instance, prefer to hire people who have good english skill and consequently people who do not come from english native countries must study hard to become more competent.

Apart from those reasons, languages have important influences on cultural existences. Languages drive common features with rest of culture such as social phenomenons, histories, and symbols. If young people are no longer to speak local language, it will be difficult to learn their own culture. Research carried out by statistics center in Toronto shows that several cultures and traditions are losing at fast pace following the disappearance some languages over the past ten years. Hence, it raised the concern about losing local identity.

All thinking considered, having few languages might tackle social problems in the world; nonetheless, we could not ignore that we also have responsibility to preserve local culture for our next generation.