Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extents do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Each year, different languages have gone virtually extinct. Some people think that this type of disappearance remains insignificant and also claim that life will become convenient if this type of trend continues to decrease further in numbers. But, i completely disagree with this idea and this essay will support my opinion with relevant examples.

On the one hand, the majority of people believe that disappearance of varieties of languages in the world can lead the lives of people easy. This can be exemplified by the fact that the languages which are gradually disappearing are generally spoken by the indigenous people and they normally represent a minority group, who rarely contribute and participate in the development of a society and a nation. As it is clear that political, economical and administrative aspects are dealt with a major language, so ceasing of minor languages is nowhere nearly as crucial as major dialects. As a consequence, focusing on a major language can remove confusions and address difficulties, which are often faced by public when are several languages, eventually dooming to a comfortable life.

On the other hand, fading away of languages can have enormous negative impacts on communities and knowledge levels. To illustrate, if public lose languages, they are naturally deprived of parts of their cultural traditions that are closely tied to that language, such as songs, myths and poetry that are not easily transferred to another language. Therefore, their values are gradually replaced with new ones resulting to complete loss of identities of that society. In addition, language can also be considered as scientific knowledge in topics such as medicine, philosophy, botany, and so on. When a language is lost, this knowledge is lost as well.

To conclude, even though many people consider vanishing of languages unimportant, they remain extremely valuable interms of fostering culture and demonstrating intelligence.