The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2020 there may be as

many as 29 million vehicles on British roads.

Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws

introduced to control car ownership and use.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the past century, there used to be only few vehicles on the British roads. However, this will continue to skyrocket in the year 2020 up to nearly 29 million. People should consider other modes of transportation and global policies must be strictly followed. In this essay, I will explain why I strongly agree that usage of other means of transportation is necessary and why certain laws should be implemented.

There are several options of transportation to lessen and even to prevent future dilemmas caused by the increase in the number of cars. Firstly, citizens should be encouraged to ride bicycles. Aside from the fact that they are another way of exercising, bicycles are also healthy for the environment as they do not excrete carbon dioxide. Another alternative is getting on a bus or train. In this way, there will be less traffic. If these modes of transport become popular amongst the majority of commuters, the pollution will also be reduced.

Apart from aforementioned methods, there should be some national and international policies put in place. One way to regulate the number of vehicles is to limit per household to one to two cars. Furthermore, scrapping of 5-year-old automobiles should also be imposed to help decrease the rising rate of cars in the future. In addition to that, color scheming of cars is another way to control the traffic of cars each day on roads.

To sum it all up, it is predicted that vehicles on British roads will significantly increase by 2020 and I believe that usage of other means of transport and implementation of laws will be very beneficial to avoid future problems.