The freedom to work and live anywhere has become the main trend due to development of communication technology and transportation. Do the advantages of these development outweigh the disadvantages? Discuss.

There is no denying that the rapid development of communication technology and transport enables people to work and live wherever they want. It is, in some extent, beneficial to individuals and governments. From my personal perspectives, however, more problems than benefits will surface with this trend.

On the one hand, it is of difficulty for governments to manage the citizens. If a great number of people choose to live and work anywhere, they want without limitations, with the advanced communication technology and the increased transportation, it is hard for governments to regular the highly mobile people. As a consequence, it may have a detrimental effect on the safety and stability of society.

On the other hand, another disadvantage of this trend is that it might do harm to the environment and diminish the quality of life. Because of the better medical care and education resources, many people tend to migrate from rural areas to some metropolis. It is easy to understand that the population in these cities are continuing to increase. As a result, the prices of houses and other daily necessities might soar. What is worse, due to the increase of labor, more industrial factors may be built, which is definitely harmful to the environment.

Admittedly, there are also some advantages to this trend. People may get a better job if they can choose the work place. It is no doubt that more suitable or nice job with high salary available in metropolis than rural areas. By choosing to live and work in large cities, employees who come from destitute areas can achieve a successful career. But, at the same time, it can also increase the life expenses and pressure.

In conclusion, it is true that, recently, people have the ability to choose the life and work place based on the exist technologies, and it can help individuals in some cases. But I believe that some policies should implement to regular and limit the migration of citizens.