In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There have been heated arguments over the future materials for reading. It is anticipated that readers will shift completely to online sources and get rid of paper-made newspapers or books. From my perspective, I just partly concur with the given statement, given some personal concerns that are going to be discussed in the essay.

On the one hand, it is indisputable that online reading is becoming more and more popular, making it the main methodology for acquiring knowledge. To be more specific, nowadays there is a variety of resources and academic references on the Internet that are accessible to many learners and college students without any additional charges. This facilitates many individuals with their reading habits, putting them at ease to fulfill their appetite with only some clicks to download valuable information online. In addition, printed newspapers are also considered to be obsolete and old-fashioned since the rise of online news agencies. It is now more straightforward for readers to receive daily updates in their online mailboxes instead of purchasing a printed one, putting them at ease and enhancing their satisfaction.

However, there are some major drawbacks in terms of the purification together with the intellectual property of authors. Firstly, it is now a big question mark on the verification and reliability of free data on the Internet, which causes public concerns and worries. For instance, online information can be distorted with conspiracy theories, intentionally spreading falsehoods and initiating polarisations within society. Moreover, authors deserve to earn rewards and make money thanks to their intellectual and massive efforts while composing and publishing valuable research findings and educational references. The fact that many books are being uploaded online is exploiting the writers’ brainchild and negatively affects the reading culture. Therefore, free online reading can sometimes put authors and owners at the disadvantage.

To sum up, while it is conceivable that online reading will become a common option for many people, there are some serious implications that can cause public confusion among individuals and inequality for the intellects.