Government should make people responsible for looking after their own local environment. Do you agree or disagree?

Since time immemorial, governments promulgate effective rules to protect the environment; numerous residents, however, are reluctant to follow them. Therefore, I concur with this stance that authorities should raise citizens’ awareness to preserve their surrounding environment because of some compelling reasons.

On the one hand, some opponents of this vantage point presume that individual actions are often inefficient in comparison to official measures. As a result, locals are unable to protect the environment. Individual activities, however, may be more impactful in reality. For instance, the consumption of fossil fuels and the quantity of contaminated air will be lowered if everyone avoids driving their own automobile for short trips and instead takes public transportation, walks, or cycles. Another case of this point is that each person has stopped using plastic bags because they are a hazardous pollutant to the environment, and rather than opt for eco-friendly alternatives such as paper or cloth bags. These examples demonstrate that individuals can make a significant contribution to environmental protection.

Furthermore, authorities make people accountable for environmental protection being advantageous owing to the close proximity to the environment . First, governments seem not to have as profound insight of each area's environmental situation as local residents, thus when they give some regulations which cannot be accurate for each location. Additionally, allowing people to make their own decision and implement environmental actions that are appropriate for their circumstances can serve to respond to and improve the situation.

To sum up, when it comes to environmental problems, individual actions are indispensable in the problem solving process, therefore, governments should enforce inhabitants’ awareness to preserve humans’ atmosphere.