Governments should spend money on railways rather thanroads.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Transportation is an important means to move from one place to another. There are different kinds of transportation facilities provided by the government such as railways & road transport. While some people believe that more money should be spent of railways, in my opinion, both railways as well as roads need to be prioritized equally.

In the one hand, we cannot deny the fact that Railways are a cheaper means of transport as compared to road transport such as buses and cars. They provide faster services and the problem of traffic congestion does not arise. Another advantage of Railways is that since a huge number of people travel in a single vehicle, fuel consumption is reduced and environmental pollution is at its minimum.

On the contrary, Railways do not cover all areas and therefore, we need road transport to commute from the station to the place of work or stay. In times of emergencies, roads are a more convenient and practical means of transport. For instance, a sick person cannot be carried in a railway, he needs an ambulance. Pregnant women, who need to reach the hospital on time, rely mainly of road transport such as cars and the condition of the roads is crucial for the safety of the mother and the child. School children, infants, old people and the disabled depend highly on road transport.

In conclusion, Railways are beneficial for the general public at large, however, in times of crisis as well as for the sick and the children, roads are a must. Hence, the government needs to spend equally on both rails and roads for the overall development of the country and the welfare of its people.