Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

One of the most difficult questions that are faced by governments of all countries is whether create new railroads or highways. Although some people are confident in the importance of building new rail lines, I would adhere to an opinion that roads for cars remain more efficient and convenient to date.

First and foremost, the major strength of the roadways is that they connect every building in a city. At the same time, it is still hard to imagine a vast web of the rail lines in a city centre. The explanation of it is rather obvious. If there is an accident on the road, the driver can easily choose another path. This pattern cannot be used for trains. Any little breakage will stop the traffic of the whole rail line.

What is more, there is another reason why highways should be a better choice than railroads. As is well known, roads help people to feel free. Drivers are not dependent on the schedule of the trains; they understand that it is their vehicle and they can manage it as they want. So, it can be said that newly constructed roads will help to develop the sense of freedom for the population. People will be more active and interested in the life of the society and even the country.

To sum up, I would like to underline that creation or renewal of the infrastructure is significant nowadays and, certainly, can be done in several ways. Nevertheless, I am sure that building new roads can enhance the standards of living of the society much better than constructing new railways.